Fortune Telling

a. Circle the correct definition for each of these words from the text.

1 fortune telling
a reading science fiction films
b saying what will happen in the future

2 century
a a thousand years
b a hundred years

3 influence
a the information your friends give you
b the power to have an effect on people or things

4 to predict
a to ask someone what will happen
b to say what you think will happen

5 palm
a the inner part of one’s hand
b the outer part of one’s hand

6 nonsense
a something that is unusual
b something that does not have meaning

7 leaves
a the green parts of a tree or plant
b bags of tea

8 reliable
a if someone is reliable you can trust them
b if someone is reliable you can’t trust them

b. Use words in Exercise 9a to complete these sentences. Remember you may need to change the form of the words.

1 I think all these ways of fortune telling are just saying what will happen in the future.
2 If you study a lot, it will have a big influence on your exam results.
3 I guess life was very different a few century ago.
4 My new MP3 player is really small – I can put it in the palm of my hand.
5 I don’t think that the .. in my teacup can .. my future.
6 Aaron says he’ll do something but he never does it! He’s not reliable.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started